Tempus Frangit

Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose – the more things change, the more they stay the same.

I’ve been fascinated by the concept of non-linear time, and how the universe seems cyclical, since I was a kid growing up on Doctor Who. This project being my first video attempt I don’t know how well I articulated the cyclical and unchanging nature of time. I started out with a large amount of images taken with two cameras of not only typical seasonal imagery but people and objects as well. I was intending to connect one image to the next in both a linear and a non-linear order, hoping to reveal the inherent energies that an object or space absorbs over time, and use color to display this. I narrowed it down to 138 photographs I have taken, most of them recently with this project in mind, and manipulated them to create more overall cohesion. I wanted the colors to flow from one season to the next. I placed an image representing dawn about every four spaces or so, and an image representing nightfall at equal intervals as well. I incorporated the photos of letterpress blocks that I took at the start of the semester to create some juxtaposition with the imagery – quiet heaven, hollow beauty, sacred joker. I spaced each word out the way I did to create more sentence separation and allow each word to somewhat exist on its own as well

I am glad a sense of emotion is conveyed to the viewer. There are equal parts winter, fall, summer and spring but I also feel that the coldness and darkness of winter is dominating. I am interested to see if watched again in summer if my video evokes a more serene and sunny feeling. The images are all timed differently and set to the music, so some are intended to be viewed slightly longer than others, which may have something to do with the emotion felt, as well. The order of the seasons is the same: winter, fall, summer, spring, but opening and ending with winter to show that everything is a cycle may leave the viewer feeling that winter is most dominant.

By Márit

2 responses to “Tempus Frangit


  1. I’m exploring the re-association of words and meaning.
    How even the most subtle shifts in a passage can radically alter its apparent content. Perhaps game mechanics can be employed to drive a rich interaction between audience and content. An audience willing to exchange the artifact
    for another kind of aesthetic experience.


  2. I’m exploring the re-association of words and meaning. How even the most subtle shifts in a passage can radically alter its apparent content. Perhaps game mechanics can be employed to drive a rich interaction between audience and content. An audience willing to exchange the artifact for another kind of aesthetic experience.

Leave a Reply

